challenge · Great Grandma's recipes

In which I explain that I’m not sick, merely busy (Gingerbread without eggs)

Thank you to those concerned people who have been enquiring after my health after a prolonged silence on the blog. I’m not dying, or even a little bit sick!

Here are my excuses.

a) Playing oboe in a school production

b) students and kids in the local eisteddfod

c) casual teaching work aplenty

d) painting a house

e) all the regular stuff – husband, kids, garden, house etc etc

I have actually been cooking a little, but not blogging, so here’s one of the recipes I’ve tried.

Great Grandma Ethel must have either had a real thing for ginger, or not a lot of choice. Probably a bit of both I suspect. This is another of many, many ginger recipes in the book.

I was going to tell you not to make this recipe, but my family LOVES it, so cook away! This gingerbread is the thick, roll out kind, although I made it in a tray, and we sliced it into squares which were quite thick compared to your average gingerbread house. I cooked it until it was still chewy in the middle, and the kids with their Dad discovered the joys of microwaving it, which gives the texture of fudge and a taste of caramel. Yum. A word of warning: this recipe uses a whole cup of golden syrup (and that’s on top of the cup of sugar) That’s if you make my version, which uses less than half of Great Grandma Ethel’s quantity. Otherwise, feel free to knock yourself out and try her version- let me know how it goes!

So, here’s the recipe.

5 1/2 cups flour

225g butter

1 cup brown sugar, firmly packed

1/4 cup milk

2 tablespoons ground ginger (not in Great Grandma’s recipe)

1 teaspoon mixed spice

1 cup golden syrup (yes, this is not a mistake)

1 1/2 tsp bicarb soda

Preheat the oven to 180ºC (350°F). Cream the butter and sugar. Add the golden syrup and mix in, then add the milk and mix. I did all this bit in the electric mixer, but switched to hand mixing from here on. Sift together all the dry ingredients, and add to the butter mixture. Stir through until it’s almost mixed through, then turn out onto the bench and give it a quick gentle knead to bring it all together. Roll or press it flat into a large tray lined with silicone paper. (Use a tin larger than a lamington tin. Mine was 26cm by 38cm)

Bake for about 35 minutes. Cool in the tin for a few minutes, then on a rack. Cut into small squares (it’s very rich). Try it warmed in the microwave – we recommend it.

One thought on “In which I explain that I’m not sick, merely busy (Gingerbread without eggs)

Leave a Reply

