challenge · Great Grandma's recipes

Apple Layer Cake

My admiration for Grandma Ethel is only increasing. This next recipe requires me to add enough water to make a dough, then 2 cups of flour, in that order.

The first attempt was not even close, I guessed that about half a cup of water might be enough. What I ended up with was a batter, not a paste, so I added vanilla and popped it into a cake tin for afternoon tea. So, I’d narrowed down my quantites -NOT half a cup!

The second try worked much better, with only 2 tablespoons of water. The cake didn’t really rise though. It was delicious, but it looked more like apple pie. I thought I may have used plain flour by mistake. So I made a 3rd cake. (The family are suffering greatly…) This one definitely had self raising flour, but it still didn’t rise a heap, but now I’m sure that’s what it’s supposed to be. It’s delicious, and had the bonus of not having to grease and line cake tins.

So, here’s the recipe.

4 apples. I used Granny Smiths – What other choice for my Grandma Ethel Smith’s recipe?

2tbsp butter

1/4 cup sugar

250g butter

1/2 cup sugar

1 egg

2 tablespoons water

2 cups flour

First, make the stewed apple by melting the 2tbsp butter in a frypan, and stirring in the sugar for a few minutes, then adding the peeled and chopped apples.

Stir through and put a lid on until the apples are almost soft, then take the lid off and let the extra water evaporate, so that the apples are sticky and yummy looking, not wet. Cool.

Preheat the oven to 180°C (350°F). To make the cake, cream the 250g butter and 1/2 cup sugar. Add the egg and beat well. Add the water. It will separate at this point. Add the sifted flour, and stir lightly, then knead just a little until it comes together. Divide in half.

Roll each half into a circle about 20 to 25cm in diameter. I rolled the bottom half onto silicone paper which was already on the baking tray so I wouldn’t have to move it. Place the stewed apples in the centre, and wet the edges. Put the other half of the rolled dough on top, and crimp the edges well. I rolled the bottom edge up and over the top to make sure it sealed.

Bake at 180°C for 25 minutes.

When cold, spread with icing and sprinkle with dessicated coconut. I made a plain icing with about a cup of icing sugar, a teaspoon of butter and enough boiling water to make it spreadable but not too runny. The sugar had to be borrowed from next door, thanks to the previous challenge of not shopping for 30 days, but they were handsomely repaid with a share of the mountain of ginger snaps we have remaining.

We had lunch here after church for an international cast of 12. Friends from Australia, Thailand and Alabama USA shared the cake with us, which was probably just as well as it was our 3rd cake in 2 days. This tastes a lot like apple pie, but with more crust and less apple.  I hope you enjoy it. We did.

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Apple Layer Cake

  1. I could probably handle this sort of recipe – sounds forgiving after you’ve worked out the kinks for us! Glad you got to share it with friends.

  2. I had the privilege to taste this scrumptious rendition of Great Grandma’s Apply Layer Cake (one of the Australian friends) and was suitably impressed – well done Donna, very yummy!

Leave a Reply

