30 days of eating from home

Day twelve

I have quite a lot of garden, which I’m not on top of in anybody’s definition of the term. Sometimes it’s easy to see the work that has to be done, rather than just enjoying it. Today I went out there with my camera and deliberately looked for the beauty. I also got stuck in and cleaned out the asparagus bed. They have been in 3 years now, so next year we finally get to eat some. It’s a good garden and a good green hill that I live on, and I need to stop and smell the roses more often.

Last night’s roast will be providing the meat for the school lunches. We had our regular Tuesday musical visitor for tea, which was spaghetti with roasted tomatoes. We even (in a very big break with tradition) had dessert. Bottled plums with custard. Yum.

This morning I also managed to cook a huge pot of roasted pumpkin soup for teens from our church who will be going to the State Youth Games during our June long weekend. I can defrost that with a day or so to go.

I’m once again having food supply dreams. This time, I had discovered another garden bed that I’d forgotten, full of brassicas, including an alarming number of red cabbages. The light of day revealed no such bed, but my seedlings are up and racing, and that’s enough to keep me happy for now.

 

2 thoughts on “Day twelve

Leave a Reply

